1st Annual CIMentos Assembly

On 10 November 2023, the 1st Annual CIMentos Assembly took place at the University Campus of Vigo, a scientific event organised by the University of Vigo’s Marine Research Centre (CIM) with the aim of bringing together all the centre’s research staff in its own space for the presentation of work, the exchange of knowledge and the establishment of collaborations.

During the meeting, which was attended by more than a hundred researchers from the centre, they shared scientific advances through a dozen oral communications and 32 posters on topics related to aquaculture and the sustainable exploitation of resources, biodiversity and ecosystem services, global change and pollution, renewable energies and new resources and the integrated management of the coastal area.

A space for scientific diversity and interdisciplinary collaboration

One of the main focuses of this meeting was to promote interdisciplinary collaboration and collaboratuve research, seeking to encourage interaction between different disciplines to address challenges of the marine environment from multiple perspectives, providing innovative solutions and debating the future of marine science and our oceans.

This first scientific meeting was presented as a unique opportunity to establish valuable connections with colleagues, taking advantage of an environment conducive to networking.

CIM Award

At the event, it was announced the creation of the CIM Award, which will recognise the person or institution with a career as a reference for research staff or with a work that contributes to advances in research in the different areas of specialisation of the CIM, both nationally and internationally.

This award aims to highlight the impact and relevance of the achievements of the winning person, to make their scientific achievements visible and to motivate the personnel of the centre to continue advancing in the construction of the future of the CIM on a foundation based on research capacity, youth and interdisciplinarity. The person awarded with this prize will make the plenary session of next year’s assembly, where he/she will share his/her experience, knowledge and achievements with the scientific community in next year’s event.



08:30h –
09:00h Welcome and opening of the 1st CIMentos Annual Assembly
09:30h –
Convened communication:
“The sexual activity of anchovies generates turbulence in the sea”.
Research winner of the IG Nobel Prize in Physics
Beatriz Mouriño Carballido
(Biological Oceanography)
09:45h – 10:00h “Involvement of mechanistic target of rapamycin (mTOR) in valine orexigenic effects in rainbow trout”.
Sara Comesaña Fernández
10:00h – 10:15h “The gut-brain axis in fish: from detecting nutrients in th gut to modulatin central appetite-regulatory systems”.
Ayelén Blanco Imperiali
10:15h – 10:30h “Mitocondrial genome sequencing of marine leukaemias reveals cancer contagion between clam species on the seas of Southern Europe”.
Sara Rocha
(Population xenomics and cytogenetics)
10:30h – 10:45h “Effects of anthropogenic stressors on intertidal ecosystems”.
Marta Román Geada
10:45h – 11:00h “Influence of the Canary Islands upwelling system on ocean surface temperature throughout the 21st century”.
Rubén Varela Rodríguez
11:00h – 11:15h “EcoTox – Molecular biomarkers”.
Sandra Isabel Moreno Abril
11:15h – 12:00h Coffee break and visit the panelling
12:00h – 12:15h “Combining offshore wind and solar photovoltaic energy to stabilize energy supply under climate change scenarios: A case study on the western Iberian Peninsula”.
Beatriz Arguilé Pérez
12:15h – 12:30h “Analysis of marine renewable energy generation through climate projections”.
Xurxo Costoya Noguerol
12:30h – 12:45h “DualSPHysics: from fluid dynamics to multiphysics for real engineering problems”.
José Manuel Domínguez Alonso
12:45h – 13:00h “Challenges in coastal monitoring of beaches and dunes, some examples in Spain and Portugal”.
Ángela Fontán Bouzas
13:00h – 15:00h Food and panellists
15:00h – 15:45h Round table: “The future of the CIM”
15:45h – 16:30h Debate
16:30h – 17:00h Closure
*Panels: 32 posters.


Organising Committee

  • Daniel Rey. Dirección do CIM
  • Moncho Gómez Gesteira. Área de Investigación do CIM
  • Jose Manuel García Estévez. Dirección da Ecimat
  • Cristina Quelle. Área de Innovación e Transferencia do CIM
  • Charo de la Huz. Área de Xestión e apoio á investigación do CIM
  • Marta Crespo. Área de Comunicación do CIM

Scientific Committee

Coordinators and coordinators of the areas of specialisation:

  • José Luis Soengas Fernández, catedrático da Universidade de Vigo e coordinador da área de especialización de Acuicultura e explotación sostible dos recursos.
  • Armando Caballero Rúa, catedrático da Universidade de Vigo e coordinador da área de especialización de Biodiversidade e servizos ecosistémicos.
  • María Teresa de Castro Rodríguez, catedrática da Universidade de Vigo e coordinadora da área de especialización de Enerxías renovables e novos recursos.
  • Ana María Bernabeu Tello, catedrática da Universidade de Vigo e coordinadora da área de especialización de Xestión integrada da zona costeira.
  • María Cristina Sobrino García, profesora titular da Universidade de Vigo e representante da área de especialización de Cambio Global e contaminación.


  • José Guitián Bermejo, investigador postdoutoral contratado pola Universidade de Vigo
  • Marta Conde Sieira, investigadora distinguida da Universidade de Vigo
  • Xurxo Costoya Noguerol, investigador Juan de la Cierva
  • Xochitl Elías, investigadora predoutoral da Universidade de Vigo
  • Sara Varela, investigadora distinguida (Programa Oportunius-GAIN) da Universidade de Vigo